the briefest of thoughts

A renewed sense of the possible. Many have written widely and articulated about being moved by Obama’s victory (mixed, of course, with the bitter taste of Prop. 8), and I’m among them. I’ve been swinging back and forth between moods of an almost jaded pragmatism and unrestrained exuberance, and I found myself sitting listening to the radio this afternoon with a foolish grin on my face at stories flooding in from around the world.

I’ve been trying to make sense of a lot of things, but I think, as I wrote, what I find myself feeling is a renewed sense of the possible. We have an opportunity (and to be fair, have had) to shape something new close to home, and I wonder at how it might be possible to wed bicycles to bipartisanship. I don’t know yet, but perhaps all things really are possible.

Leave a Reply

